Chatty vs Crisp
Crisp is a customer-support suite built in France: live chat, a shared inbox across many channels, a knowledge base and, on top, its AI agent Hugo. It has a free plan and is far cheaper than most. Chatty starts from the AI agent and adds the board; Crisp starts from the inbox and adds AI.
Choose Crisp if
- Your team answers customers live, and you want chat, email, WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram and SMS in one inbox.
- You want a free plan for live chat and a shared inbox.
- You want a try-out that needs no card, for 14 days.
- You want one tool that also covers CRM-style customer profiles, workflows and a knowledge base.
Choose Chatty if
- You want the AI to answer first, with a separate agent inside your app that knows who is asking.
- You want your team to work the help desk from Claude or ChatGPT through MCP.
- You want to see every answer’s sources, steps and cost.
Side by side
| Topic | Crisp | Chatty |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | “The AI customer support platform for every business”: live chat, a shared inbox and a knowledge base, with its AI agent Hugo. | An AI help desk: a website agent and an in-app agent in front of a built-in board, for SaaS teams and solo builders. |
| What it learns from | Your website, PDFs and knowledge base articles. | Websites and sitemaps; PDF, Word, Markdown, text, CSV, HTML and image files; YouTube videos, playlists and channels; written answers. Websites are re-read on a schedule that depends on the plan. |
| Sources in answers | Not stated on the pages we read. | Yes. Every answer numbers its sources and links to them. |
| When it cannot answer | Not stated on the pages we read; a shared inbox, routing rules and a ticketing system (Plus) are there for people. | Says it does not know instead of guessing, then offers to pass it on. A ticket lands on the built-in board with the conversation, the person and the page attached. |
| Inside your app | Not stated on the pages we read; chat SDKs are on every plan. | A second agent inside your app. Your backend signs a short-lived token with the person’s name, plan and role, so every conversation and ticket says who asked, and from which page. |
| Actions on your systems | Not stated on the pages we read; a workflow builder from Essentials and 100+ integrations on Plus. | Built-in tools only: search your knowledge, capture a lead, open a ticket, hand over. Calling your own systems is on the roadmap. |
| From Claude or ChatGPT (MCP) | Not stated on the pages we read. | Yes. An MCP server lets your team work the help desk from Claude, ChatGPT and editors that support MCP. |
| Models | Not stated on the pages we read. | Models included in your plan, paid from its credits. |
| Teams | Seats per workspace: 2, 4, 10 or 20+ by plan; extra seats listed at $10 a month. | Organisations with Owner, Admin, Responder and Member roles, workspaces, groups and an audit log. |
| Channels | Web chat, WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram and email for the AI agent, and eight more in the shared inbox. | A website widget and an in-app widget. Slack and email are on the roadmap. |
| Analytics | Analytics from Essentials, advanced analytics on Plus. | Knowledge gaps, every conversation with its full trace, and the cost of each answer and each agent. |
| Compliance | Not stated on the pages we read; it links to a security page and says it is built in France. | Tenant isolation, role-based access, audit logging, encrypted secrets, public/internal knowledge boundaries and rate limiting are built and tested. Chatty does not currently claim SOC 2, HIPAA or regional data residency; GDPR and POPIA documentation, retention and deletion workflows, and an independent security assessment are part of the compliance programme. |
Pricing Crisp14-day trial with no card. Enterprise is custom. Free$0per month2 seats Mini$45per month Essentials$95per month Plus$295per month ChattyAnnual billing is available. Credits cover the models included in the plan; prices were checked on the comparison date. Trial$07 days50 credits Founder$29per month3,400 credits Pro$99per month17,000 credits Team$349per month68,000 credits Figures are a visual summary of the pricing text above. Prices may change; check each vendor before buying. | ||
Crisp's column was read from crisp.chat on 27 October 2026. "Not stated" means the page did not say, not that it is missing. Chatty's prices are its own plans on that date. Products change quickly, so check their site before you decide. Something wrong? Write to [email protected] and we'll correct it.
Put Chatty to work.
Give your customers a helpful first answer. Create your account and introduce Chatty to your business.
Try Chatty free